Get involved. Sign up for a race in your community

Now that you’ve achieved some of your fitness goals, it’s time to venture a little more outside of your comfort zone and really put your fitness to the test… (I promise it will be fun!)

Sign up for a race or walk in your community. Since spring just began, it should be fairly easy to find one close by. Just do a simple Google search to find a race in your area.

Running a race

And remember, it’s not about winning! I have to tell myself that a lot because I’m pretty competitive. It’s about getting yourself out there. It’s about trying something new. And it’s about proving to yourself that you can do it. You can achieve you’re fitness goals!

The Black Squirrel 5K Race is just around the corner Black Squirrel 5K Logo

Since I’m a student at Kent State University, I plan on participating in the Black Squirrel 5K Race that will held at my school on Saturday, April 14. If you live close to Kent, Ohio, sign up for the race today!

Here are the details:

Event Facts

  • Who: The Kent State Department of Recreational Services is holding the second annual Black Squirrel 5K Race.
  • Who can participate: Everyone (ages 5 to 80) can participate!
  • What: The race is a scenic loop course through the Kent State University campus and is tracked with a chip timing system.
  • Where: Kent State Student Recreation and Wellness Center, located at 1550 Ted Boyd Drive, Kent, Ohio 44242.
  • When: Saturday, April 14, 2012 at 8 a.m.
  • How to register:  Visit http://www.kent.edu/recservices/blacksquirrel/
  • or register in person at the Student Recreation and Wellness Center.
  • Prices: Regular Registration price: $25.00, sales end April 10, 2012. Late Registration: $30.00, starts April 10 and ends April 14, 2012.

Prizes and Food

  • Performance T-shirts and a free buffet are included with participation in the race.
  • Door prizes with gifts from local vendors will be offered.
  • Overall male and female winners will receive cash prizes:
  1.  $75
  2. $50
  3.  $25
  • Medals will be awarded to winners based on age group.

From the Assistant Director of Recreational Services, Greg Bailey:

“We put on the race for people who value health and wellness lifestyles, which corresponds to our department mission.”

“We’re trying to offer a great race to open the springtime season and get people of all levels involved.”

Sounds like fun, right? I think so!

Races like this are great because, even if you aren’t used to running long distances, you can still participate and get excellent exercise. You have the chance to enjoy the outdoors, smell the crisp spring air, and have some fun!

Like I said before, if you don’t live in the area, there are tons of other 5K races offered in all different areas. People of all levels participate in community races, so don’t think you aren’t good enough.Marathon runners.

Change up your exercise routine a little more, have some fun, and get racing!

8 thoughts on “Get involved. Sign up for a race in your community

  1. Being healthy is extremely important and I think your blog shows that in a positive way. Many people do not want to run a 5k because they are concerened it is merely about how fast you can run. In reality this is a fun way to get out their, be healthy,and be social while having fun. Truthfully, I had no idea there was a Black Squirrel Race, posting the event facts is very helpful and I am now interested! Since we are on the sujbect of being healthy while doing fun activities, I found a really interesting event you might be interested in called The Color Run which is being held in Cleveland this year. Many states have been taking part in this event. It is also a 5k race based on having fun. You can walk it, jog it or run it and any age group can sign up. While you run workers on the side lines throw colored powder on you! It is a fun way to exercise while enjoying yourself, you should check it out:)

    • That sounds like so much fun! I am so sorry I just saw this comment! I didn’t get the notification for some comments, and I really am sorry!! ( I let the grad assistant for your class know.) I am glad I interested you with my post, and you definitely returned the favor. Thank you! And I’m sorry again for not seeing this until now.

  2. My community does not have such race event every year. But it do have other games such as PingPang competitions, Tai-ji, badminton, etc. I usually ignore these fun. I definitely need to sign up for them next year!

  3. I myself love to run and I have actually thought about participating in this race! I run a lot when I am at home over the summer and do a couple of 5ks. Unfortunately I stop once winter rolls around because of the cold and I have asthma. So I’m not entirely sure I am in the best shape to start doing races again! I think running is a great way for you to stay in shape and races are really fun too. You get a good work out in and then after theres usually prizes (like this one) or sometimes a party after for all of the runners. Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

